Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

The Editors are truly grateful for the support they have had from The Society of Cosmetic Scientists (SCS) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) in bringing this science to the attention of you, the public.

From its beginnings to its publication date, the SCS Council has provided great support and feedback under the guidance of the Presidents and other officers: Grace Abamba, Ruth Borner, Stewart Long, Mary Lord, Emma Meredith, Mojgan Moddaresi, Jackie Searle, Barry Winslett, Mustafa Varcin.

We would also like to thank Gem Bektas, SCS General Secretary, for her unstinting support and for handling the essential contractual and logistical aspects of putting this book together.

All of the Editors are members of the SCS Education Committee and we wish to acknowledge the continued support and encouragement from our colleagues over the last 2 years: Pauline Ayres, Daniel Burney Heather Carolan, Russell Cox, Anke Ginzburg, Susan Hurst, Lauren Kempen, Daksha Patel, Ian Prendergast, Lorna Radford, Claire Summers, Roger Rowson: Joyce Ryan, Prof. Danka Tamburic, Prof. Peter Taylor.

We acknowledge with particular thanks the support from other members of the Education Committee: Dr Barbara Brockway – for stimulating conversations that kicked off the whole idea and her continued support; Dr Tony Morton – for his insightful comments on the penultimate drafts; Dr Bob Hefford – for providing information and critique for on-hair colourants; Bernice Ridley – SCS Education Programme Coordinator, for liaising between the authors and the editorial team, assisting in sourcing images, accessing and checking consistency with the Society's Diploma Course content, and proof reading.

At the RSC, Janet Freshwater and Katie Morrey proved to be invaluable in guiding us through this, our first experience of the publication process. We could not have achieved it without them. Whether assisting with sourcing and obtaining permissions to use images to illustrate the science in the book, or working with us on the front cover with their design team, through to ongoing support and guidance on the publicity, they have been a great part of our team.

Last, but not least, huge thanks are due to our authors, many of whom are writing for the lay public for the first time. Their responsiveness and flexibility and their lack of complaints as we suggested amendments and reminded them of the deadlines are a testament to their passion for sharing the science in the brilliant field of science we all share.

Thank you!

Steve Barton

Allan Eastham

Amanda Isom

Denise McLaverty

Yi Ling Soong

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal