Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Carbon dioxide (CO2) is one of the major greenhouse gases that contribute to global warming and anthropogenic climate change. Unfortunately, it is predicted that the atmospheric CO2 concentration will continue to increase in the next few decades because fossil fuels will still be the dominant energy source. In recent years, worldwide efforts have been made to reduce the CO2 emissions, among which capturing using solid adsorbents/sorbents has attracted intense attention from both academia and industry. I have been working on CO2 capture materials since 2009, and have witnessed nearly one-thousand papers per year being published in this field. With this rapid development, I believe that it is was necessary to edit a book to summarize all the important progresses made with each type of CO2 capture material. Professor Dermot O'Hare, University of Oxford suggested that this could be part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Inorganic Materials Series. He suggested two books entitled Pre-combustion Carbon Dioxide Capture Materials and Post-combustion Carbon Dioxide Capture Materials. I am confident that these works will benefit advanced undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers working in both academia and industry on this topic.

This book is organized into five chapters and focuses mainly on the low-temperature CO2 adsorbents used for post-combustion CO2 capture from flue gases. This book aims to present the full picture of various post-combustion CO2 capture materials including carbon, zeolite and silica, metal organic frameworks, and alkali metal carbonate, etc. The discussion of each type of adsorbent starts with the fundamental mechanism for CO2 capture, followed by the preparation and modification of the materials, and their capture capacity, kinetics, and recycling stability, etc. The application status of the above mentioned materials for post-combustion CO2 capture is presented in the fifth chapter.

The editor thanks all the contributors to this book, particularly Professor Jin Zhou (Shandong University of Technology, China), Professor Wei Xing (China University of Petroleum, China), Professor Guillaume Laugel (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France), Professor Benoît Louis (Université de Strasbourg, France), Professor Wha-Seung Ahn (Inha University, South Korea), Professor Hirofumi Kanoh (Chiba University, Japan), Professor Rajender Gupta (University of Alberta, Canada), and all the students and researchers involved in each chapter.

Also, I would like to express special acknowledgements to Professor Duncan Bruce (University of York, UK), Professor Dermot O'Hare (University of Oxford, UK), and Professor Richard Walton (University of Warwick, UK), who accepted and supported this project, and to Connor Sheppard, Leanne Marle, Sylvia Pegg, and Robin Driscoll for all their support during the editing of this book. Finally, I thank the Royal Society of Chemistry for supporting this edition.

Qiang Wang

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal